6 Sense Noting

Learning to distinguish between the 6 senses & observe calmly

Guided Meditation

Distinguishing the 6 Senses - Tour of the 6 Senses

Learn to observe all experience - 6-Sense Noting

Core Instructions

Objective - Why?

Sensory Clarity

  • Builds the foundation for the further development of Sensory Clarity

  • Recognize the present experience

  • Understanding one-self

  • Distinguish one's experience into 6 sense categories


  • Ability to be with whatever experience arises in an accepting way

Essential Instruction

  1. Recognize the experience

  2. Label it

  3. Release any resistance

  4. Be with for a while

  5. Release attention

  6. Repeat

Observation Method

  • Choiceless

  • Observe until Gone

  • Choiceless + observe for x-seconds before release

Observation Range

  • All experience i.e., 6 senses


  • Find & maintain a comfortable and steady rhythm

  • Important is the recognizing, non-identifying, relaxing, and not the label

  • All experiences, negative ones included, are equally welcome


Mahasi Sayadaw UM Kenneth Folk



In this practice we develop clarity about our experience, that can be divided into our 6 senses (see, hear, feel, taste, smell, mind). You do this by recognizing, labeling, relaxing, and being with the sense-phenomena.


Transition in

  • Posture

    • Settling into one's practice posture

      • attentive and comfortable

    • Releasing any unnecessary effort & tension in body & mind

  • Becoming present

    • Noticing the current experience

      • e.g., sights, sounds, thoughts, feelings

'Main Practice' Letting go

  1. Recognize

    • Choiceless observation

      • Allow your attention to freely attend to whatever experience it chooses

    • Notice whatever experience arises in the moment

      • Nothing else to do but simply recognizing or noticing that there is an experience

  2. Label

    1. Identify which sense-category the sense-phenomena relates to

    2. Label once 'There is' + 'Seeing', 'Hearing', 'Feeling', 'Tasting', 'Smelling', 'Thinking'

      • e.g., 'There is seeing', 'there is thinking'

  3. Relax

    • Check if there is any interference, that is, resistance or struggle towards the current experience. If so, release the effort underlying that.

    • There is no need to check every single time whether there is resistance or not. With time you will be able to notice simultaneously and automatically whether you are resisting or not

  4. Be with

    • Remaining in contact with the current experience

      • Nothing special to do but keeping the object in your awareness, that is, knowing that the experience is still there, present.

    • Duration or Time

      • Everyone finds their rhythm

  5. Release

    • Letting go of the sense-object

  6. Repeat

    • Repeat from step 1 Recognize

Visualization of Steps

Visualization of Attention

  • Butterfly is the attention

    • The butterfly chooses freely where to go, where to stay

      • May go from one flower to another, then back to the flower before or to another

      • May stay at one flower or go to another

    • Likewise, your attention chooses freely

  • Flowers are the 6 sense objects (seeing, hearing, feeling, smelling, tasting, thinking)

Last updated